Spring Has Sprung

11025884_10204060917424009_7810797376203372949_o

This photograph was taken by a childhood friend in Georgia. That’s Pine Mountain in the background.

I truly miss the four seasons.  The photo reminded me of my daughter’s first spring in Michigan.

My grandmother had daffodils on her farm as thick as these in this photograph; paper whites, daffodils, butter-n-eggs, doubles, singles, white, orange and yellow. They multiplied dramatically and had to be thinned every year.

I transplanted planted bulbs all over our farm when my children were small. These daffodils from Grandmother’s farm eventually blanketed the green floor of the pecan orchard beside our home.

The first spring my daughter was in Michigan I received a phone call from her. She was in a debate with her college peers about whether or not daffodils grew wild in Georgia. They do around the old homestead sites, but somebody planted them at one time. My daughter had no memory of me planting those daffodils, only that they were everywhere and beautiful.

You never know when you might be making a memory.

45 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung

  1. Love this! Of course, I can’t resist with a Wordsworth stanza:

    I wandered lonely as a cloud
    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd,
    A host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
    Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

    I love their yellow trumpets, heralds of spring. And, yes, I too miss the 4 seasons.

    Like

      1. That’s what comments are for, Susan – ha! When I leave out something on a post, someone invariably chimes in – sometimes with a work or author I didn’t even know about.

        Like

    1. My son just bought a house in Traverse City Michigan. I’m so proud of him. Funny story how he met his wife. My daughter came down to stay in Olrando and two boyfriends followed her down. She had to piock one of them. The other one moved in with her brother and went on with his life. One of this guy’s old girlfriends followed him down here and met my son. And the two of THEM lived happily ever, my son and his new wife. 🙂 after.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Daffodils have been planted all over the road shoulders along the ferry route from one island to the next. It’s a cheery welcome and a beautiful harbinger of spring. They’re also the only thing the deer won’t eat.

    Like

    1. That just sounds gorgeous! Ha! The deer won’t eat them. I didn’t know that could be a problem. We kept venison in the freezer, so the deer tended to avoid our place anyway.

      Like

  3. I love daffodils! Ours are not up yet. We had snow on Friday, but the sun is out now, and the crocuses have started to bloom. I’m kind of hoping our daffodils will be in full force Easter/Passover weekend when we have our big Passover dinner.

    Like

    1. The long stemmed paper whites always bloomed first for us. Smelled really nice also. It didn’t get cold enough for crocuses. (Or tulips…they’ll grow, but not come back the next year.) Of course, none of those pretty bulbs come back in Florida year after year, just too hot.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous!! You made me a bit homesick for the seasonal Michigan I was raised in! Here in Oklahoma, the daffodils have opened, the forsythia and quince bushes are in bloom, and the beautiful bartlett pear trees are admired by some and cursed by those with allergies! It’s a beautiful time of year.

    Like

Leave a comment