So, You Want to be an Author? Traditionally published? Self-Published? Read here!

This post made me laugh till I peed, cry buckets of tears, walk away and digest for a while, kick the dog, reach down and rub his tummy, bang my head against the wall, and then laugh some more. While it is written by a traditional publishing proponent, it has much insight to offer ANY aspiring author. It also offers the realistic support and encouragement I need, especially since I am my own agent and publicist. It was a long guest post on Chuck Wendig’s blog “terribleminds”, by Delilah S. Dawson, and you’ll want to read every word.

http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2014/01/08/25-damned-dirty-lies-about-publishing-by-delilah-s-dawson/

For more about Delilah check here

http://delilahpaints.blogspot.com/p/about.html

I know you can surf the internet just like I can, and you may already subscribe to Terribleminds, but I didn’t want you to inadvertently overlook this one. Read, come back, and let me know what you think!

18 thoughts on “So, You Want to be an Author? Traditionally published? Self-Published? Read here!

    1. True…I was figuratively speaking. I got angry a few times…but then, laughed about it after banging my head on the wall. I love my doggies and would never really kick them!

      Like

    1. It was a long read…took me two hours because i hung on every word and had to take frequent breaks…but I was determined to read every word and wasn’t at all disappointed to give it my time…of course it was 2:00 am.

      Like

  1. Why is it that I read these articles about how hard it is to be a writer, and all the things that suck about it, and… they are all written by writers! Most of them are by good writers, which (as in this case) at least makes them fun to read. I say screw it. The real message is always the same one. You just have to keep writing. (Sorry about the dog though.)

    Like

    1. LOL…doggie is really fine. I certainly agree with that message…keep writing is key. I think all writers deal with similar frustrations, and some are better at telling about them than others.

      Like

Leave a comment